Ads by google

Follow by Email


Tackle the Web with up to 5 new .COMs, $5.99 for the 1st year!

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Cowboys Capture Fifth Straight Big 12 Golf Title

Hutchinson, KS - For the fifth straight year and ninth time since 1997, Oklahoma State's men's golf team has won the Big 12 Championship.

The Cowboys shot a combined 10-under 270 in Wednesday's final round to finish at 5-over, winning the title by twelve strokes over Texas A&M.

OSU's final round score was the best posted by any team in any of the three rounds of play.

Junior Morgan Hoffmann earned medalist honors, shooting a final round 2-under 68 to finish at 3-under, three strokes ahead of teammate Kevin Tway.

Talor Gooch tied for eighth at five-over while Peter Uihlein, the top-ranked golfer in the country, tied for 19th at eight-over.

Sean Einhaus tied for 29th at 11-over.

Texas was third with Texas Tech fourth, Oklahoma fifth and Missouri sixth. The bottom six were Kansas, Nebraska, Baylor, Colorado, Kansas State and Iowa State.

The win gives Oklahoma State the conference's automatic berth into the NCAA Championship, which begins with regional tournaments next month.

This year's NCAA Championship will begin May 31st at Stillwater's Karsten Creek Golf Course.

No comments:

Post a Comment